Candidates File for Republican and Democratic Special Election Primary

Lebanon, TN –Thursday, September 28th, at noon was the deadline for candidates to turn in their petitions to be on the November 7th Republican and Democratic Special Election ballot to fill the District 17 State Senate vacancy. One candidate filed for each primary, Mark Pody for the Republican Primary and Mary Alice Carfi for the Democratic Primary.

Tennessee law requires a special election be called by the Governor to replace a vacant senate seat if the vacancy occurs twelve months or more before the next state general election. The next regular state general election will be fourteen months away. The Governor set November 7th for the primary and December 19th for the general special election. Both elections will be held in all of the six counties making up the 17th State Senate District: Wilson, Cannon, Dekalb, Smith, Clay and Macon.

The Republican and Democratic Primary Election on November 7th will determine the Party nominees that will be on the General Election ballot in December. The winner of the General Election on December 19th will serve the remainder of the unexpired State Senate term which ends in 2018.

Tennessee law requires that primary elections be held for political party to allow members of that party to select a nominee to appear on the general election ballot. Registered voters who are affiliated with the Republican or Democratic Party, or who, at the time they vote intend to affiliate with that party, participate in Primary Elections. Voters do not register by political party in Tennessee but they must declare a party choice before voting in a Party Primary.


To avoid lines at the polls or something coming up at the last minute to keep you from voting take advantage of Early Voting for these special elections. There will be five convenient Early Voting sites in Wilson County- Lebanon at 203 E Main St- Mt. Juliet at 1075 Charlie Daniels Pkwy- Lighthouse Church at 6141Saundersville Rd- Gladeville at the Community Center – Watertown at the Community Center. The Election Commission Office and the Mt Juliet Community Center sites will be open October 18th through November 2nd.  The other three locations will be open from October 23rd through October 28th. The hours of early voting at all the sites are Monday through Friday 8am until 6pm and on Saturday’s from 8am until 1pm.

For those Wilson County residents not registered to vote, the last day to register to vote in the Primary Election will be October 10th. With the introduction of online voter registration, registering or changing an address is easier than ever before.  The process only takes a few minutes. If you’ve never registered before or you have recently moved and you need to update your registration, the online system takes care of it quickly and easily. To take advantage of registering online go to and click on the Online Voter Registration link. Paper forms are also available to download on our website, to complete at the Election Commission office and are found at most government offices.


To learn more about elections, Early Voting, registering to voting and how you can be involved with Wilson County elections contact the Wilson County Election Commission at 615-444-0216 or online at